The Ellusionist Forums are no longer active. Join us on Facebook, Twitter or YouTube.

Thread: Introduction

+ Reply to Thread

Introduction

Greetings all,

The name is Mark and I'm a beginner in mentalism. I decided to join this forum because I've been studying for a while now, but could really use some guidance. I had figured I'd leave that judgement to the forum and hopefully get some feedback. I've read on other forums that it's a good idea to find a mentor. Currently, I'm taking my time making my way through steps 1, 4, and 6 of Corinda -- as these are the steps that currently interest me. For a few years I had researched, here and there, a variety of sources of mentalism, but never really sat down and put 'the work' in.

My (mentalism) reading list consists of the following in no particular order:
    1) The Amateur Magician's Handbook - as suggested by Bob Cassidy in his Artful Mentalism
    2) Strong Magic - I figured this would help with stagecraft
    3) Magic and Showmanship ^
    4) EB's switchcraft - to complement my learning steps 4 and 6
    5) PMM - I'm really starting to gut it for ideas for routines
    6) Craig Browning's Intro to Mentalism - I've been reading and rereading this for months now and allow me to say that it has been a terrific guide and has really encouraged me to dig into my mentalism studying and find the gems in what a few consider "outdated." Each day I spend a little time going back over the lessons in this and find myself more confident (in the route I'm taking) than yesterday.

In case anyone was curious about what sources I have available to me, other than the above:
    1) Unreal - Bruce Bernstein
    2) The Alchemical Tools - Paul Brook
    3) The Nailwriter Anthology - Thomas Baxter
    4) Maximum Entertainment
    5) Scryer's Band of Readers
    6) The Manchurian Approach
    7) Reality is Plastic
    8) 13 Steps - Richard Osterlind
    9) Prevaricator - Patrick Redford
    10) Vol. 4 ETMMM - Richard Osterlind