Page 1 of 2
1 2 ... LastLast
+ Reply to Thread

Being like Criss Angel

I've been doing magic for about 4 years now and something has been holding me back. Before I even knew about Criss Angel I performed with a very bizarre style very close to his with the heavy breathing and shaky hands, the whole deal. When Criss Angel got big I realized he was being just like me so I felt like I was copying him and started to find a "new personality" if you will. Other magicians had begun to tell me "You're acting like Criss Angel" but that was really who I was. Anyway I recently watched Jay Sankey's Create Your Own Magic DVD (which I highly recommend) and it taught me that just because a trick or presentation isn't new, or even exactly the same as somebody else's, if it's yours, it's yours. It means sure, I might be acting like Criss Angel, but if that genuinely IS who I am than that's all that matters. There's rarely a time when something "new" is actually created, 98% is usually just a version of something else. So as weird as this sounds, now that I've gone BACK to MY personality (which happens to be close to Criss's) people have responded much better. New is nothing, it's whether it's YOURS.

I'm sure when people see that I have posted they will roll their eyes (it's something I talk about a lot), but I think being yourself is one of the most important parts of performing. Even if you are acting like someone else you know of, if it's how you truly feel comfortable doing it, then by all means, continue to do so.

Acting is an entire different subject. Some magicians like to plan every last word and perform as a character, and thats absolutely fine. It's when a person tries to take on another personality and make it seem realistic that there is the potential for trouble.

You are who you are and thats all that you are.