Page 1 of 2
1 2 ... LastLast
+ Reply to Thread

Royal Road to Card Magic Dvd Set - Formal Review ( Updated! )

I practiced almost all materials on this DVD and performed it all. When I saw my old review, I tought about updating it. Since it doesnt do the set -book justice. Updated info are shown in red.
    ---------------------------
    Hi guys,
    I got Royal Road for 3 monthes now. I was doing card magic ONLY since 3 monthes back then before I bought the set, and I was not sure about my order. " Royal Road ? seems for total beginners", I was DEAD wrong.

Lets go on for the review:
    Main Part of Review, The INSIDE:
    you can see all the contents of the Dvd here:
    http://www.ellusionist.com/order/Roy...VD.php?cat=103

As you can see, all the moves seem to be quite basic. I'll give my personal comments on some of them:

The Overhand Shuffle: I just discovered that I didnt know how to overhand shuffle ! I litterally practiced the shuffle ( YES, the fair shiffle ) for 2 days. how to run one card at time, and how to make several cards fall instead of one. Controlling cards using the shuffle took me another 2 days to practice. after you finished the overhand shuffle section of the dvd 1, you will have TOTAL control over tha cards !

The Glide: A sleight that enable you to switch cards invisibly.

Key Card: NOT a sleight, but away to locate a choosen card. Effects using Key Card in Royal Road are killer. I didnt like them at first, but when I performed them to lay people, I was amazed by the reactions! ( See effects section below ). What I loved, however, that Paul teaches you a method, where you let the spectator put his card ANYWHERE in a fan, and you get the key card below it invisibly.

Hindu Shuffle: The set DOESNT teach you the fair version, it jumps directly to its card control techniques. I loved it! Easy and you can control multiple cards, in order to do a reverse to reveal them!